• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Handloading for an M1 Garand?

breachersup

Sergeant
Minuteman
Mar 2, 2011
New England
Hey All,

My apologies if this has been covered before--I tried a Google search with no luck.

I’m not new to shooting at all, but I’m brand new to reloading and as such, I really appreciate it if folks talk to me like I’m six years old when we talk reloading.

So I’d like to start hand loading .30-06 for an M1 Garand in pretty new condition (wanna save money here).
My question is:

<span style="font-weight: bold">Any recommendations for brass, a powder, primer, and bullet to use?</span>

If it helps with advising, I’ll be using an RCBS single stage press. (I think that’s the right terminology—I got that rock chucker supreme master reloader kit)

I’m assuming I want solid brass since it’s not being used in a bolt action, I want a powder that’s good for cycling autos, and I want some full metal jacket, or just barely hollow point style round for reliable cycling, but like I said, I don’t claim to know what I’m talkin about here.

Thanks in advance all,

Re: Handloading for an M1 Garand?

I've had my M1 Garand for a 1-2 years, and though I haven't shot it a whole lot, I've never fired a round in it that I hadn't handloaded myself.

To be on the safe side, I load ammo for it from data in the Hornady loading manual, and I haven't had any problems yet.

You can shoot the original 152 fmj M2 bullets and they are the least expensive from here:
http://www.gibrass.com/
or the 150gr. flat based hand pulled bullets from here:
http://www.polygunbag.com/bullets.html