• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Hard secondary extraction in 308 win

7magsavage

Sergeant
Minuteman
Aug 9, 2012
I have had some brass lately get really hard to extract. I have been reloading for nearly ten years and have never had this problem before. The live round chambers easily, the bolt lifts easily, but on some cases Im having to set the rifle on its butt and bang the bolt open with my rear bag. Im not running hot loads. Any suggestions?

Steve

I have had some brass lately get really hard to extract. I have been reloading for nearly ten years and have never had this problem before. The live round chambers easily, the bolt lifts easily, but on some cases Im having to set the rifle on its butt and bang the bolt open with my rear bag. Im not running hot loads. Any suggestions?

Steve

What rifle? Custom? Is this a new problem for this rifle, where it previously functioned properly? Sounds like a Remington 700 with the all too characteristic non-functioning extractor cam.

Agree with Supersubes guess too about lack of primary extraction on the bolt lift. Probably the issues in these two videos, combining to give you problems.

Reactions: supercorndogs
Thank you guys for the replies. Im thinking that my die is not sizing my brass all the way down the case. Just watched the videos and I haven't measured my brass yet, but I nearly guarantee this is my problem. I have noticed that the cases that are hard to extract are coming out with score marks in a ring just forward of the web area. I am wondering if buying a small base die is the solution. What are your thoughts?

You need to measure your fired cases vs sized to know for sure. Small base dies are only .001” tighter than std.