• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Hard to find recipe

engineerairborne

Private
Minuteman
Apr 10, 2009
I'm new to reloading, but I have a good understanding what is involved and how to do it. I found a good deal on .308 bullets 147 grain FMJ. The issue that I'm having is that I can't find any specification's for making this round. I have the Speer #14, and the Lyman 49th. I have also checked many places online, and I can't seem to find any specifications for this bullet. However I can find mention to the 147 grain FMJ all over the internet so what gives?

One other question I bought these bullets off the internet, and they where liested as being class 'b' in that they where pulled from older rounds and have tool marks on them. I'm assuming that they would not be particularly accurate, but I figure that they should be good enough for some one that is not concerned about compatition shooting, but just wanting to practice hitting the target.

Re: Hard to find recipe

147's work well for me in both 310 and 308 configuration in my old CR rifles. They certainly bang a 8" piece of steel out to 200 yards and they're more than lethal.

You're right, they're most likely very old stock from "the West" or they're more likely to be Russian or Eastern Bloc surplus that is copper washed steel jackets.

I treat them like 150 FMJ's and I worked a load up from 10% low because the ones that I have are steel jacketed and I didn't know what that would do to the pressures. I stopped moving north on powder when I found a decent middle range load that seemed to shoot well and the brass lasts a long time. For stuff with expensive reloadable brass I'm more concerned with it lasting for 20 reloads than I am with getting max velocities.