• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Havak Hit 6.5 cm and Bushnell XRS3 6-36X56 - add inclination angle to the mount?

cwhess

Private
Minuteman
Jan 1, 2023
Florida
I am new to PRS and have spent many hours on this forum recently trying to learn as much as I can (amazing resource). I have purchased and have on the way a Seekins Havak Hit in 6.5 Creedmoor and a Bushnell Elite Tactical XRS3 6-36x56 (EQL reticle).

The XRS3 has a 34 mm tube and 29 MRAD of elevation travel. The Havak Hit has an Integrated 20MOA Picatinny rail.

My question I was hoping to get help with - should I add 10 MOA to my scope mount or keep it at 0 since I already have the 20 MOA in the rail?

I was thinking about getting the ARC M-BRACE mount with 32 mm height (based on prior threads here).

The main range I will be shooting at will be 850 yards but I would like to be able to go to 1500 yards comfortably. Thanks for any comments.

So a 20moa mount gives you 5.6 mils up, your scope has 14.5 mils of up from mechanical center, for a total of 20+ mils of available up. That will get you to transonic velocity near 1500-1600y depending on bullet/velocity/da. Optical center of scope travel on your turrets(half way) will be at 800ish yards.

Kind of up to you. You could go with a 20 moa mount on that 20 moa base with a scope with 29 mils if you wanted but 10 moa mount won’t hurt anything. I have the same scope coming in soon and plan to just put it on a 0 moa mount as I don’t need more than the 20 moa in the base.

Thank you for the comments. Based on the replies so far I will probably just get the mount in 0 moa.