• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

headspace on fired .308 shorter than SAAMI specs

FASTDM

Private
Minuteman
Nov 5, 2008
I am new to reloading so please bear with me.

I'm reloading once fired FGMM 168gr. Using RCBS everything. Precision comp dies, MIC, etc.

These rounds are for a Savage110FP chambered in .308 and were fired out of the same stick.

When I measured my average headspace for the first lot of 100. I came up (-0.004) shorter than SAAMI standards. That was from a 5 rnd random pull. So, I MIC'd another 4 sets of 5 and came up with the same average. The RCBS instructions only mention headspace that measures within SAAMI standards.

I understand that Savage's tend to have tight chambers and that's usually a good thing.

So my question is:
What does this mean in the grand scheme of things for my reloading process and are there any specific steps that I need to take to ensure that my rounds are safe and accurate?

Semper Fi

Re: headspace on fired .308 shorter than SAAMI specs

Headspace of the cartridge is measured from a datum line on the shoulder to the base of the cartridge. So, if you're loading that .308 for only that one rifle, its not an issue. Measure and record that headspace and size the dies down to reduce that headspace 0.002-.003" for full length sizing. Now, it may be an issue should you have another .308 rifle and its headspace is more than .005 longer than this rifle, the brass will stretch and fail sooner because of that. BTW, the headspace dimensions has nothing to do with the ogive or COAL. That is about bullet seating and the amount of jump the bullet will take to the lands.