• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Heavy bolt lift with suppressor

stello1001

Professional Newb
Minuteman
  • Feb 20, 2017
    Corpus Christi TX
    Hey guys,

Went to the deer lease last week to sight a rifle I gifted my dad. I've had trouble with this rifle since forever. Anyhow, specs are below:

Howa mini
    6.5 grendel
    Original barrel cut to 18" and threaded by smith
    Boyds Pro Varmint stock pillar bedded by Smith
    TBAC Dominus

Ammo was Hornady Black 123 ELDM

I started shooting and sighting without suppressor and even tried a different factory load to see what the rifle liked best. I got a good feel for bolt lift during all this.

When I settled on the 123 ELDM because it shot better, I decided to shoot a group with suppressor and threw it on. Not only did the POI shift a little which I know is normal, the group opened up, and I had significantly heavier bolt lift on most rounds fired. All rounds fired that did have heavy bolt lift were with suppressor on.

I inspected cases but saw no clear marks on them other than a few I could just barely tell the ejector printed on there ever so slightly.

Anyone care to give me any advice? I'm definitely less experienced than most on here and couldn't come up with a reason why this is.

Thanks

A very hot load that may not show obvious signs of pressure can start to show those signs with the introduction of a suppressor.

The ammo is too hot for the gun.

You say you've had issues with this rifle "forever" - what are those issues?

And you are using factory ammo, correct?

The rifle had no consistent accuracy when I first got it. It was all over the place.

I leave for work and am never home. Finally, I got back recently and decided to take it apart.