• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Heavy Caliber Hunting Optics

pcrage

Private
Minuteman
Feb 26, 2009
Guys...quick question

Purchased a .416rigby for a dangerous game hunt I am going on later this year in Africa. Want excellent and durable glass for short and mid range shots and easy target acquisition. (say 1-4 or 1.5-7).

Need a recommendation. Budget is open

thanks much!

PC

Re: Heavy Caliber Hunting Optics

Check out the S&B Short Dots which are 1.1-4x also the variables in 1.5-6 would work too. Excellent optics for your needs.

USO SN-4 1.5-6 with JNGMOA or C2(mil-based) reticle.
Order it with the lowest profile knobs(zeroing) and just hold over if need be.

I have no experience with this type of shooting, but it would seem to meet your needs.

My thoughts:

Big Reticle - German Post & Croshairs
Long Eye Relief - 4"+ @ lowest power
Generous Eye Box - 1.5" minimum
SFP

A Leupold 1.5-5x20mm Illuminated with German #4, is about right. Many of those have gone to Africa, as well as the smaller non-illuminated version. That is one scope that Leupold has done right for years....

A 416 Rigby can eat scopes, like a dog eats chop meat. In fact, if your taking two rifles, consider taking 3 scopes. One for each rifle, and one that can go on either as a backup. It does not need rings, or be sighted in. Plenty of time and places in Africa to do that. And you can leave your backup scope as a tip for your PH when you leave. Hard for them to buy good glass.

The Leupolds 1.5x5's are cheap enough to do just that.

Bob

Swarovski Z6i 1-6x24 EE (extended eye relief) with the CDI reticle.

CD_I%5B190%5D.png

http://swfa.com/Swarovski-Z6-Illuminated-Riflescopes-C193.aspx

What kind of dangerous game? Buffalo/Elephant or cats?