• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Help. 6.5 Creedmoor loads showing pressure signs??

BulletGuide

Private
Minuteman
Jun 16, 2017
Monterey, CA
I've been hanging out here for some time, now need some help. I'm just beginning to load for 6.5 Creedmoor, using new Lapua small primer
cases. I seem to be getting a primer crater on almost every load. Here's the specs
Remington 700 24 inch barrel
New Lapua Cases
CCI 400 primers
Loads listed below with photos....

1. Hornady 140 gn ELD with 39.5gn IMR 4350 loaded to 2.80
Ot51SgS.jpg
6.5 cratering 2.jpg

2. Hornady 123 gn ELD with 36gns of Varget loaded to 2.80
8eEasv3.jpg
6.5 cratering 1.jpg

3. once fired Hornady case 140gn ELD loaded to 2.80
LxQ9Jy4.jpg
Lapua 400 primer  36gns Varget   123ELD.jpg

All of my loads for my first three range trips with this rifle and brass show some cratering. Is it the CCI 400 primers? I know they have
once of the thinnest top thicknesses of all primers, still it seems a bit strange that I'd get the same or nearly the same primer reaction
on each load. The 140 gn 39.5 did seem to show some gas blow-by too. My Hornady book says 140 gn ELD can go up quite a bit higher
with safety. The grouping for the 39.5 gn load was .4 inch at 100yrds. So it shot pretty well but if I'm nearing a pressure problem I don't
want to continue, obviously. What am I missing here?? Do the Remington bolt face and pin produce these or just mine...
Thanks for any advice.
Bruce

Last edited:
Basically all of what you have chosen doesnt work well together.

If you are shooting a small rifle primer with your stock remington unbushed firing pin then yeah, it will crater every single one. Send the bolt to a smith to bush it to a small firing pin and youll be good to go. Or go with large primers.