• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Help a first-time loader with gear selection

HT0317

Private
Minuteman
May 20, 2012
29 Palms CA
Hey everybody, I'm new to the hide, but a pretty experienced shooter. I'd like to get a complete list of every single item you would buy to reload 300 Win. Mag. I'm aware that a lot of folks "buy twice", especially with reloading equipment. Break it down as much as you can for me. Thanks!

Re: Help a first-time loader with gear selection

Press. Dies. Measuring Tools. Scale. Powder flow. Trickler. Manuals. Bullets. Brass. Primers. Powder.

The fist thing is a manual; get one or two and read the first couple of chapters. Let that guide you. Everybody has their way to do things; if you have a buddy to coach you, take advantage. You'll soon be doing things your way.

I literally just came from my bench to check the 'hide forum, loading some .45acp rounds I worked up. It's my therapy; loading and this forum!

"buying once" for reloading is a pipe dream

50 people will give you 50 "buy once" lists - but none of them will match your 20/20 hindsight list

do it like the rest of us and just buy a bunch of shit you end up not using

Here are some things I wish I had known about.

A beam scale tuned by Scott Parker.

If you are going to throw charges and then weigh a cheap used powder measure is fine otherwise buy this kind. http://www.sinclairintl.com/.aspx/pid=38306/Product/RFD-Rifles-Culver-Style-Powder-Measure

A Forster Coax press.

Saturn caliber specific aluminum powder funnels.

Wilson trimmer with "Micrometer". The Mic makes all the difference especially when you have a bunch of different cartridges to trim for.

NECO dry case neck lube.

Imperial case sizing wax.

High quality digital calipers and mic.