• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Help a noob out with optic and gear suggestions please!

Sinitron

Private
Minuteman
Jun 26, 2020
Greetings everyone,

I have been a competitive handgun shooter for years and finally dipping a toe into the precision bolt-action rifle world. Keeping various affiliates and sponsors in mind, I have decided to support Daniel Defense and Vortex optics in this instance. I would consider this a precision rifle oriented build. I'm not experienced enough to consider myself a long range or ELR shooter yet, but looking to grow into it over time.

I have a new Delta-5 rifle in 6.5 Creedmoor on the way, which comes with a 20MOA pic scope base. I will be shooting mostly outdoors during daylight hours on a concrete bench (edit: at sea level). 100yd stage to zero, up to 300yd max initially, then stretching out to 500-600yds once comfortable in the future. My ultimate goal would be to gain enough proficiency to max out around 1000yd in a class setting. I have not developed a load nor do I reload this cartridge, using retail Federal 123gr open tip match and Hornady Superformance 129gr SST just to get started for now.

Got a few questions, would love some input...

1) As far as a mounting solution - scope base or rings? The base seems more solid, and from what I understand the included 20moa pic base has enough to support up to 1700+yd. Perhaps a 0-MOA base on top with 1" height would be ok for clearance on the front end with 56mm lens? I feel like adding a mount with 10-20MOA additional may be "too much" but I'm open to learn more. I have appropriate tooling and torque wrenches for proper installation.