• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Help: Berger bullet seating depth, distance to lands???

kskevin

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 13, 2010
Cincinnati
Guys, my distance to lands is driving me nuts. I'm an engineer so the details and precision are something I can't let go off and I'm off deep into the rabbit hole. Would appreciate some perspective.

Have a GAP 280AI and had been measuring distance to lands every couple hundred rounds or so. The distance was decreasing with increasing round count (impossible). My measurement approach was a very loosely seated bullet in the same once-fired case (in my chamber), cycle the bolt closed, measure CBTO (hornady comparator guage/calipers), repeat several times to ensure consistency, log the info. The decreasing distance and some significant variation really had me questioning everything. Thus, I switched to the Wheeler method of measuring and this has led to at least very consistent results on 'kissing' the lands BUT.... this distance to kissing the lands is significantly shorter than what I was getting with the loose bullet seating/cycle bolt method especially on Berger VLD bullets. Here's the comparison data

Round CtBerger 168g VLDNosler 160g ABHornady 162g AmaxComments
452.790"2.861"Loosely seated bullet, measure CBTO
1112.800"2.869"2.805"
"​
"​
4002.869"2.774"
"​
5502.6532.8212.697WHEELER Method
DELTA Wheeler vs Previous-0.137"-0.048"-0.077"

Note the change in CBTO for each bullet to just 'kiss' the lands via WHEELER method vs previous results is significantly shorter.

So Here is my dilemma....