• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Suppressors Help Me Choose My Next Can.

mebgardner

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Feb 11, 2024
Arizona
There are so many good choices, it's hard for me to choose. I'm now able to say the community has good choices, because we get really good data presented to us by well known and well regarded industry voices. But it can be overwhelming.

Instead of presenting my list of selected devices and asking you for help with a down select on the choices, instead allow me to present a use case and a set of pre-defined "desirements". I think that would help me pick up on something that I might have missed. That's happened recently.

I'm a retired engineer that fusses endlessly about The Details. I was a good engineer. It does not help when faced with so many good choices. I mention this because that experience has taught me that building machines is an exercise in compromise. Tradeoffs.

So, the use case is 30 cal rifle: 308 / 6.5 CM / 6.8 SPC / 300 AAC BLK / 7mm Rem Mag Maybe, but this would be the upper power limit. Not 338 level or above. Range 500-600 yards, no more. No PRS work, but precision is always a bonus. "Only Accurate Rifles Are Interesting", but I dont compete even casually. No Mag Dumps, I dont have access to that level of fun. At the lower end of that power range is the 300 BLK likely on an AR Pistol. This is the Suppressor sub forum, so of course Mouse Farts will be part of the use case. Will it see 556 use? Likely, but not primary. I figure a 30 cal can on a 556 rifle is a safe use case for the can, given the power range already mentioned. Concussion and Recoil Reduction at the range and hunting, and Home Defense indoors on a shorty AR. Thats a pretty broad power spectrum.