• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Help me get started with 223 AR loading

EchoDeltaSierra

Slightly above average
Minuteman
Jun 1, 2013
Minnesota
Good morning hive mind. I’m working on a little fun winter reloading project. I currently load 6.5CR and 300WM and have loaded thousands of rounds in the past year. That said, I’m not experienced with anything but precision reloading.

Recently I installed a PST 2-10 on my trusty AR-15 that has been sitting in the safe for about two years, and now I’m really intrigued about what could be done out to 600y.

I have dies and bullets order. I’m undecided on powder to use. I have a 1-8 twist 16” barre and am suppressed.

Is there any better choices than Varget or CFE-223 for powder? I’d be satisfied with 1-2 moa at 600y with either 55, 68, or 75 grain pills.

Thanks in advance for any guidance.

I use IMR 4064 for mine. Mainly because I use 4064 in my 308 as well. I don't like keeping track of a bunch of powders.

I use 23gr of 4064 with a 68gr hornady BTHP match bullet. Most 55gr or lighter is going to be running out of steam by 600. That's been my experience anyway, but I'm close to sea level and the atmospherics are not ideal where I live. I have an odin works 18 inch DMR profile barrel. 1:8 twist as well.

Reactions: EchoDeltaSierra
I use Varget in mine with Hornady 75 gr BTHP Match. I’m right around 24gr of varget still working out the load but it’s looking good. I chose varget for the same reason as above, I use varget in my 308.

23-24 grains of 8208XBR with a 75/77 bullet is hard to beat.
I’m still a fan of W748 and 69smk’s as well.

cfe223 is a pretty decent powder for 55-77 grain bullets as well.

I like varget for bolt gun 223.