• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Help ,ordering lower reciver questions.

HVT Tyler

Private
Minuteman
Apr 22, 2010
MN, USA
(First off im a noob)when ordering a lower reciver in MN i found out you need to have some sort of permit, how do obtain that? Also if im buying a complete lower and not a stripped one is there any difference? please help i got a bcm upper that wants a lower badly !

Re: Help ,ordering lower reciver questions.

Not sure about MN specifically but a lower receiver is just the same as a gun, so it's got to go through an FFL. So find the lower you want and have it shipped to a local FFL pay the $20-$30 fee to transfer it and you are G2G, or just have a shop order one if they don't hit you too hard on the price. You might want to check out ar-15.com to find out the reg's for MN if there is anything specific.

thanks for responding first off, but i went to gander mountain (ya i know) just to see if they could order me a lower and they couldnt do it apperently , but some guy there was answering some questions i had and then i found out about this permet you have to have to own and order it? i thought that was just for stripped lower. i dont know im getting confused now lol

Call up Bills Gunshop and Range or whatever it is called now and see what they say......not saying to use them, but nothing should be different than buying a handgun etc. Unless your awesome political leadership enacted some new red tape.

Beyond that - find a good FFL and work with them. Check gun broker for quick #'s, check in with those MN shooters on here, Adam B. from Big Lake??, etc. Network and get er dun.

Forgot - yes, the lower has the 'red tape' for BCs.