• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Help Requested: Random Rounds won't chamber

DocRDS

Head Maffs Monkey
Minuteman
Feb 21, 2012
The Great Beyond
I'm a newer reloader, far from expert and have been 'learning'
Current setup is a Lee single stage + Competition shell holders as I have a bitch of a time get proper shoulder setback (Starline brass because I dont wanna f good brass--I'm still learning). This time I was consistently at 0.0035 Shoulder bump. I tried to be super consistent on the down stroke, (Lee doesn't "cam over")
Everyone once in a while, I still get a round that wont chamber. its roughly 1 outta 15 or so? (50 rounds today--had 3). I was checking brass throughout the process that it chambered in the rifle, and as I'm ocd, the "nearby" rounds were loaded immediately before and after chamber fine and fire off no problem.

I asked around at the match didn't get much insight, so I'll throw it out here as yet my continued struggle reloading.

So what are the ones measuring that would not chamber?

I have never had this issue for sure with a .003 bump. I usually only bump .001 - .002 anyway and they chamber fine.

How many times fired? It might not be the shoulder but the case length running into the end of the chamber if they haven’t been trimmed possibly?

Reactions: RegionRat
Are you full length sizing? What caliber?
Measure your case just above the extractor groove. That part is expanding and may not be getting resized through your die. That could cause inability to chamber in cases that have been fired multiple times.

Last edited:
Reactions: Doom and RegionRat
So what are the ones measuring that would not chamber?
Exactly. Measure them.
The answer is in the numbers.