• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Help - Vertical Stringing

JSTARSZ

Lefty's Rule
Minuteman
  • Feb 6, 2008
    Wolftown
    I am not a novice shooter by any means but I am not the best either so I have started noting a trend in my shooting - the vertical stringing...I am shooting different rifles with the same loads. The loads are very consistent so I am sure it is not the loads but it is me. I shot at New Holland in PA this past weekend and have a 500 yard target shot with my Lefty Perseus. I also shot today at 100 yards as I was trying to zero my new scope with my GAP M40A3.
    Range004.jpg

On the left is the 100 yard zero each with five rounds except the top one where I changed rounds and went from a 168 AMAX to a 175 Nosler that started shooting the five rounds and then added 1.5 MOA and went for the dot - 15 rounds (1 inch dots).

The right larger target (12 Inch) is the one I shot this past weekend at New Holland, PA. Except for the one flyer at the 9 it is 1 MOA but I know I can get it tighter.

What I noticed is that the little 100 yard issues are multiplying at the 500 yard line. I am shooting prone with a Bipod and rear bag and I see definitely string from the 100 to the 500 yard.

Any helpful tips would be very appreciative.

Range001.jpg

Re: Help - Vertical Stringing

Breathing is my first choice as well. Are you breaking the shot at the bottom of your breathing cycle and not holding your breath (someone told me air is free!)

That is funny as that was exactly what my wife told me too. I suspect that is what it is too and I need to pay more attention to it.

The bottom right on the 100yd target stringing from 10 to 5 is you moving your trigger hand while pressing the trigger, I do it quite a bit myself.