• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Advanced Marksmanship Help with Bipod

Anthony C

Private
Minuteman
Sep 15, 2008
New York
I am somewhat new to shooting prone from a bipod. I have read several posts here indicating that a proper fundemaentally sound position a 308 winch should recoil straight back and not bounce all over. Can someone explain or provide a link to a site that details the proper position. Also i am resisting the use of a rear bag or rest. Raeson being is that i understand some matched do not allow them.

Also what should i expect by way of accuracy from this position. For example if i put up at 200yds the sniper one shot challange target (only with dots adjusted to 1/5 inch for 200 yds) to be able to touch each black dot with one shot?

Re: Help with Bipod

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Anthony C</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Also what should i expect by way of accuracy from this position. For example if i put up at 200yds the sniper one shot challange target (only with dots adjusted to 1/5 inch for 200 yds) to be able to touch each black dot with one shot? </div></div>

That would totally depend on your skills and the rifle.

Some (and most) rifles would not be able to touch every black dot at 200 yards no matter what the rest. I'm not sure what you mean about adjusting the dots to 1/5 inch, but assuming the outside circle is 1" I'd be happy with putting all rounds inside the circle at 200 yards.