• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Help with my OCW please.

Drummerjay08

Short Action Super-Freak
Minuteman
Jan 7, 2012
TN
Ok here we go. I'm pretty new to the hand loading game and I'd like some input/help with what I've came up with in my OCW testing vs what most other people are using as a charge weight. Here's what I used in my tests:

Remington 700 ADL 26" Varmint all factory .308
Federal brass from factory Gold Medal Match once fired from my rifle, FL sized with .001 shoulder bump
175gr SMK all seated to 2.800 OAL
IMR 4064
Federal Champion LR primers

Now I ran the test starting with 44gr and moved in .3gr increments up to 45.2gr. No pressure signs on any of the rounds. After analyzing the results I decided 44.6gr should be the OCW and I would tune it in with seating depth changes from there...then I started reading. I'd say 95% of all the load recipes I've read on here and everywhere else for that matter with similar components are nowhere near 44.6gr. Most are somewhere between 41.5gr and 43.5gr. So my question here is should I drop down to say 41.5gr and run another test up to 43.5gr? Is 44.6gr too hot. I'm looking for a good long range load. Hopefully I'm on the right track. Just need a little guidance and there's no better place to get it than right here :)

My current load is 178 Amax's over 44.4 grains of varget.. No pressure issues.. But its VERY cold here right now !
Not really sure how 4064 compares

Kyle

No pressure signs on any of the rounds.