• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Help with new brass in .257 Roberts cracking

LOBO

Sergeant
Minuteman
Sep 10, 2003
Mississippi
I've been reloading since 1997 and have never had the following happen to me.

I'm reloading .257 Roberts for me and my Father for this upcoming deer season. I am using new Winchester brass, RCBS FL dies, and Hornady one shot case lube.

I did not inspect the brass prior to running it through the FL die.

After running the brass through the FL die, & chamfering the case mouth I noticed small vertical cracks in the brass. Some of the cracks appear to be just starting (you can just barely get a finger nail into) to large cracks/splits that run from the shoulder up close to the case mouth. I lost 7 out of 50 pieces in this bag of new brass.

I checked loaded rounds from the same batch of brass and found some cases with what look like the start of vertical cracks (I could get a finger nail in them).

What would cause this in new unfired brass?

The first one on the far left might just be me being overly cautious & might just be a dent. I included it just to be sure. This isn't all of them, just the worst ones.

.257 Roberts brass 001.JPG
.257 Roberts brass 002.JPG

Winchester brass is SHIT!

They have NO quality control. I will not buy the current manufacture stuff, red, black white bag again.

It is likely all these defects were there when they came from the bag. I had a 25-35% rejection rate with the LAST 200 cases in 300 WM that I purchased.

You can get a refund... but not sure the work is worth it.

My defective WW cases were exactly like this. Find another brand of brass...

Dis you check for any with the cracks that you did not resize.
Most likely a manufacturing defect.
Dont use it.