• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Help with resizing

bfk4lyfe

Minuteman
Jul 1, 2010
CA and NV
pyNoa3D.jpg

I'm new to reloading but I've probably sized 500 cases and never had this happen and it happened to every one of the 100 cases I sized today. I'm referring to the donut in the neck. It's a once fired Hornady 260 resized using a FL Redding type s with a 287 bushing (no expander ball) . I understand the concept of using too much lube can cause problems but im not using any more than i have in the past.

pyNoa3D.jpg

I'm new to reloading but I've probably sized 500 cases and never had this happen and it happened to every one of the 100 cases I sized today. I'm referring to the donut in the neck. It's a once fired Hornady 260 resized using a FL Redding type s with a 287 bushing (no expander ball) . I understand the concept of using too much lube can cause problems but im not using any more than i have in the past.
Seems like your bushing is on the small size. I'm running a .292 bushing on Lapua 260 brass

That's not a donut, that's just unsized portion of the neck.

Top of your die come loose with the bushing riding higher than normal?

i don't think so, maybe I had the top backed off too much though? It was about a quarter turn backed off from tight

Quarter turn wouldn't do that much. Total long shot would be that your whole die was backed way off, but I doubt that's the case if you're paying attention to shoulder bump/headspace. If both of those are the same then the height of the bushing on the neck and the unsized portion of brass should be the exact same as before.