• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Helping a Newbie, Seating Question

ktm131rob

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
Apr 26, 2021
Belgrade MT
Hey Guys, I am fairly new to reloading. I’ve done a little bit of it thru COVID but not enough to fully say I have it down. I’m currently working up a load for a proof 26” 6.5 cm. I have once fired Hornady brass and I’m seating a 140 ELD-m. My question is when I look up factory OAL for this bullet OAL is 2.80. I can’t get it seat anywhere close to that. Bolt close is really really really heavy. Do I need to trim the cases? For what it’s worth the action runs on 147s like butter. I’m currently just started to screw around with this and I know something not right. I appreciate any help in advance.

few things, bullet ogive shape can have an effect on the cartridge chambering.
do you have measurement tools for reloading?
you need to measure case length. Also, for the loaded round, not oal but ogive to base length. Also you need to know your rifles internal chamber measurements. Learn how to measure to your lands, few different ways to do this. Know your brass trim length for your rifle not just factory specs.
Having this info will help a ton!

Reactions: tinker
Thanks, I don’t have an adapter to measure the cartridge length of ogive and I need to get one for measurement from the lands if I did not want to use the jam method som guys describe. I have done that. I have dial calipers and that is what I have been using.

Reactions: Rover31
Thanks, I don’t have an adapter to measure the cartridge length of ogive and I need to get one for measurement from the lands if I did not want to use the jam method som guys describe. I have done that. I have dial calipers and that is what I have been using.