• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Hi

marine0311

Private
Minuteman
Nov 16, 2009
Hey yall this is my first time here, and I feel right at home. I wanted to ask a question if I could. I am wanting to build a .30 cal rifle and was wondering about a 30-378 wea or even possibly a 300 RUM. Have any of you guys got any experience with either one of there rounds. I will reload my own ammo so I wont need to buy it buy the box, and I can decide what my new toy likes and doesn't like. Also, shooting 500-800 yds, what scope do you recommend? I would like brand and model types please. Thanks in advance.

Re: Hi

Shooting 500-800 yards.....Either of those 2 choices you mentioned would be way overkill and get expensive "wasting" bullets at that distance.
For those distances you cannot go wrong with the tried and true .308

Thanks

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Later</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Shooting 500-800 yards.....Either of those 2 choices you mentioned would be way overkill and get expensive "wasting" bullets at that distance.
For those distances you cannot go wrong with the tried and true .308

Thanks </div></div>

1000+. Even with reloading, those two choices will be very expensive. I am shooting my 308 out to 1000 yards + all the time. Ammo are cheaper to reload. Also, the barrel life is going to be a bit longer comparing to the 338 Edge, or RUM. Welcome.

How much do you plan on shooting? Also, will it be used for hunting, or just paper/steel? If not for hunting, there are much better options than overbore 30, especially for 500-800 yards.