• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Higher Education (Help PLEASE!)

Revenge Seeker

Sergeant
Minuteman
Sep 9, 2007
VA. U.S.A
So I've come to the point where I've decided I need to make a major career change... But I really don't know what to do!
So lets cover the basic questions I know would be coming. I will soon be taking the SAT/ACT placement tests to see what universities I would qualify for Financial Aide at.

1) My Favorite, best subjects in school were

a)ANYTHING Math.
b)ANYTHING Science

2) I could stand working outdoors, OR in an office.

3) I Graduated Highschool with roughly a 3.0 GPA (regretfully, I didn't used to see the value in applying myself completely)

4) I went straight into the workforce with no education past high school.

So, I guess what I'm asking is- What's out there? If you need any more information I'll gladly answer your questions!

Thanks!

Re: Higher Education (Help PLEASE!)

Computer Science, definitely.

Well if you like math and science, sounds like you could be an engineer of some sort. Did you do well on your ACT's? If so, apply to a school, apply for scholarships, and go from there. Be prepared to spend anywhere from 60k-110k. Hope that helps.

Are you just looking for brick and mortar universities or would you be interested in accredited distant education as well? I have been attending American Military University for a couple of years now and have found the majority of the professors to be top notch, most of them have worked in the fields they teach for a number of years. This also gives you the oportunity to work from home which was something that was essential for me considering I am the sole provider for a family of four. Good luck in your search.

Steve