• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Hodgdon CFE223 Accurate???

sigma2chi

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 20, 2010
Grovetown, GA
I am just getting started reloading and haven't even loaded my first round. That hasn't stopped me from stocking up on materials that were highly recommended. I have some Varget and quite a bit of H4895. I am pushing Sierra 168's through a 26' Kreiger barrel,

That being said, I am very interested in the bore cleaning properties of this relatively new CFE223 which Hodgdon says will work just fine in a 308.

Anyone have any experience good or bad with this powder?

I would LOVE to know if it is as accurate with my configuration as H4895 is supposed to be. I am going to order some and test it obviously but if anyone here can highly reccommend it I may place a larger initial order.

Thanks,
Shawn

Re: Hodgdon CFE223 Accurate???

A good friend of mine just tried some of this powder out in both his 222 and a 308 last weekend. All told, he fired a dozen 3-shot groups, and altogether averaged just over .6". Smallest group he fired was with the 308, and it measured right at .3. He did notice when cleaning, the first patch through came out very black/gray, but he said it cleaned out after the 3rd patch through.

Also been looking at using it in my 308. I have used it in my ar15 with great results behind a 68gr bullet.

I've used it on .223. Out of my ARs it is more accurate than Varget and TAC and meters very well.

I'm currently running cfe 223 in both .223 and .308. I've gotten great results in both calibers. Definitely shoots cleaner, meters extremely well plus it's one powder for both! If I could figure out how to post pics I would. I've gotten .25moa out of my sps and .75 out of my AR which is good with me.