• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Homemade Fiberglass Stocks?

Bryan27

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jul 31, 2007
Tennessee
I've been doing some reading up on fiberglassing and making fiberglass molds, something I've never done before but doesn't look like something that would be outside my abilities. There's a lot of information out there about doing fiberglass work and making molds, but nothing I can find shows anything about making stocks with fiberglass. Anyone here ever made their own mold? I'd be interested in hearing some ideas about mold design, techniques and different types of fill used to make them solid. With all these guys on here lately turning out these badass homemade stocks, surely someone's done some fiberglass.

Re: Homemade Fiberglass Stocks?

Adding wood, fiberglass/fillers to modify/change the shape of an existing stock is a completely different animal than making a female mold, and hand-laying fiberglass like McMillan does.

Modifying an existing stock like above is certainly easier- and far more practical, than making a mold for a one-off stock. But, it's not a "fiberglass stock".

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wannashootit</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Adding wood, fiberglass/fillers to modify/change the shape of an existing stock is a completely different animal than making a female mold, and hand-laying fiberglass like McMillan does.

Modifying an existing stock like above is certainly easier- and far more practical, than making a mold for a one-off stock. But, it's not a "fiberglass stock".</div></div>