• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Advanced Marksmanship Hoping rifle when shooting with a bipod...

Broken_Reticle

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jan 25, 2011
Philadelphia Tn
I have a Savage FP10 in .308 18 or 20" barrel.. I was running some factory win ammo through it last weekend for the brass (It was cheaper to buy loaded ammo then it was to buy virgin brass, so why not have some fun getting to the brass).

I was using a fixed 6-8" adjustable bipod. I was sighting the rifle in at 150 yrds. This was the first time I had really took the time to run the rifle. I dry fired about 20 times before I started shooting..

After every shot the rifle would hop and be pointing high and left about 10 feet left 3 feet high of my target..I am right handed. My grouping of 5 shots was about 1.5" once I finally got it sighted in to do a group... Having to reset the rifle after every shot.

Now I didn't have a sand bag to load the bipod against so I would cant the rifle down, load the bipod, and then lower the rifle to my shoulder. I was using my fist as a rear rest under the butt of the rifle...

I have noticed many folks on here run longer heavier barrels then the one I have. Is the hop a byproduct of ammo and light chassis/barrel or lack of setup i.e. no sandbag/more load on the bipod?

Thanks for the insight.

B_R

Re: Hoping rifle when shooting with a bipod...

could the reaction to recoil on the way your grip torque or the way you are shouldering it causing it to end up where it does.

whatever it is, at least it's consistant.

You dont' need a heavy rifle, sandbag or anything else, you need proper technique.