• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Hornady 140 gn ELD-M Ogive Variance

Yogi B

Private
Minuteman
Jul 28, 2020
Simpsonville, SC
Anyone else have trouble getting a consistent seating depth measurement from ELD-M's? I'm relatively new to precision shooting world, currently shooting PRS and do all my own reloads (been reloading for years). I use the Hornady tool to measure my lands, and when I measure using 140 gn ELD-M's I get various depths - example 3 different bullets I get average 2.10, 2.22, 2.36. I don't get this with Bergers or Barnes. So my question is anyone else see this, am I being to picky? I find that in my rifle seating .015 off lands works well - but with these bullets not sure where to seat? Take any advice, comments, etc... Appreciate the feedback!

Have you weighed the bullets and measured them to see if they vary by weight or size? You might just have a bad batch. I use ELDM's iin 147gr (6.5-CM) and 225gr (300-PRC), and get pretty consistent measurements between bullets.

Reactions: BenjaminMartin6.5
I usually dont sorr by weight, but last batch I weighed every bullet (100) just to see tge difference. Varied from 139.4 to 140.7. I thought that was ridiculous and emailed Hornady - no reply. When I just seating depth I usually use 3 different bullets with same ogive measurement. The ones I used mentioned about were all .710. Thats why I confused about results. Im trying to fine tune my reloading to get my SD’s down. Last batch of Berger VLD 140’s my SD was 9.5 seating .015 off lands (Staball 6.5 43.8 gns, Lapua twice fired brass, BR4’s). I only have plenty of Hornady ELD-M’s left, very few Bergers so Im making transition.
Thanks again for feedback.