• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Hornady SUPERFORMANCE

jcat

Private
Minuteman
Sep 4, 2021
NC
I've only been shooting long range (1,000 yards) now for about a year. My rifle is a .308 with a 20" barrel. I've tried only 2 different factory ammos and stopped looking after I started shooting the Hornady SUPERFORMANCE 168gr ELD Match b/c it was unbelievably accurate out to 1000 yards (for me, anyway). After I got my DOPE set up for that ammo, I could hit the 1000 yd steel about 9 out of every 10 tries (usually on a sunny day with low/no wind). Because I wanted to get into handloading, I wanted to see if I could duplicate that Hornady load (and maybe improve upon it). I have the 11th edition of the Hornady reloading book and I was a bit surprised to see that they don't show the Hodgdon SUPERFORMANCE in their list of powders for the .308 168gr ELD Match bullets (but they do show it for 6.5 CM). Maybe they don't use the Hodgdon SUPERFORMANCE powder in their "SUPERFORMANCE" ammo?

Is anyone using Hodgdon SUPERFORMANCE powder with the Hornady 168gr ELD Match bullets in their .308 with excellent accuracy? If so, would you mind sharing which brass, primer and how many grains you're using? Any other info you'd be willing to share about your load development for this combo would be appreciated.

Reactions: 338dude
No, it is not the same Superformance powder that Hornady uses. Your best bet would to get some Alliant 2000 MR or some CFE 223 to try to get you velocities over what most other powders will get you to. My first choice would be the 2000 MR.

You will need that with your 20" tube. I have some very accurate loads with 2000 MR and 175's in excess of 2750 FPS out of a 24" tube.