• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes How difficult would it be for two noviceish long-range shooters to have an MOA and a MIL scope?

Iwabolol

Private
Minuteman
Oct 24, 2023
New York
Hey guys, question is pretty much in the title.

My wife is rocking a Vortex PST II 5-25 in MOA.
My current scope is MOA.
We run pretty similar rifles.
I'm looking to get a scope around the 5-700$ (waiting for black Friday sales to drop) mark, but it seems most of them are in MILS. For two donkeys like us would it be super hard for both of us to make our adjustments? I'm not new to shooting, but I am new to tight groups at a distance; wanting to be both accurate and precise. I feel like I'm married to MOA because we'll have different calculations. I've read comparisons and done a ton of research, but it still doesn't answer my question of is it that inconvenient to you and your shooting buddy to have 1 MOA scope and one MILS scope? TYIA!

Yeah it can be a bit challenging. Like you I was a long time MOA shooter, years of NRA Highpower and F class. You will soon learn the shortcuts to converting your mils when giving corrections to an MOA shooter. Since you are already familiar with MOA it should be easy. The learning curve for you in mils will come easy also.

Yeah it can be a bit challenging. Like you I was a long time MOA shooter, years of NRA Highpower and F class. You will soon learn the shortcuts to converting your mils when giving corrections to an MOA shooter. Since you are already familiar with MOA it should be easy. The learning curve for you in mils will come easy also.
Would you recommend just doing my best to stick to MOA then? If something like the Match Pro ED goes on sale, I might have a hard time saying no though....