• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing How do I open up a gas port on an ar type barrel?

Robe

Sergeant
Minuteman
Aug 22, 2002
Franklin, TN
I am a self taught AR platform garage gunsmith. I would like to be able to enlarge gas ports on AR15 and AR/308 barrels, but I don't know how it is done. Could someone please explain how it is done?

Re: How do I open up a gas port on an ar type barrel?

Drill bits seem to be good for making holes, but there's a little science behind gas port hole sizes. I've only opened one gas port, but it was done with a drill bit and didn't seem to hurt anything.

A reamer would make a nicer whole. msc direct sells just about any size you want.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Recoil</div><div class="ubbcode-body">A reamer would make a nicer whole. msc direct sells just about any size you want. </div></div>
The reamer is your best bet.You use them dead slow with lots of oil and don't let the cutting action stall on feeding,go slow metal don't grow back.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: P.A.R.</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Recoil</div><div class="ubbcode-body">A reamer would make a nicer whole. msc direct sells just about any size you want. </div></div>
The reamer is your best bet.You use them dead slow with lots of oil and don't let the cutting action stall on feeding,go slow metal don't grow back. </div></div>
Only way I have ever done it. Make sure not to open to much, start small and work up if needed.

My guess is that the AR10 gas ports are already too large.

An adjustable gas block has worked for just about any issues I have seen.