• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

How far have you pushed a .300WM?

whiskeyone55

Private
Minuteman
Dec 15, 2010
Stanford, Kentucky
I've been shooting literally since I was 3 years old. I've got a Landtech .308 and I've had a couple of decent 1000 yard shoots with it. Now I'm ready to step up into the big leagues and I'm honestly lost on what round to shoot. .338 was my first choice but my re-loader said screw you about a week ago and I'm going to be stuck running factory loads for a while. How far do you feel comfortable pushing a .300WM?

Re: How far have you pushed a .300WM?

As you've no doubt noticed, a lot of the guys on this site have some very nice hardware. And MOST of the guys who hang out in 1000+ have some equally nice toys for LR and ELR. I mention this because there don't seem to be a lot of people really stretching the 300WM. And If I owned a .338 LM or a 375 CheyTac, I probably wouldn't either. But I own one rifle. It's a 300WM, so I've had to learn just what it is capable of.

I do most of my shooting between 3500 and 4500 feet ASL, so that slants my experience a little, but I've found the 300WM to quite a capable budget ELR rifle when loaded with the 208/210's.

I use 208 Amax's due to their low cost (however, right now they are impossible to get so it doesn't matter). 1 mile is not an unreasonable goal for accurately placed shots from a decent rifle. I've hit steel at 1900 and shot a fairly small group at 2300 yds. shooting at rocks. And all this from a 22" barrel.