• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Range Report How jump tolerant are 6.5 140 hybrids?

Lofty

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 14, 2008
Lenexa KS
I just started shooting my 6.5 CM barrel for my DTA and started working up a load using both 139 scenars and the 140 Hybrids.

I loaded up the Hybrids 10 thou off the lands and didn't realize until I got out to the range that they wouldn't feed into my DTA 308 mag. I was surprised since DTA mags are pretty long. The 139s cleared it no problem.

I had to set the bullet back another 15 thou to get it to clear reliably. So I'm jumping 25 thou now.

The 139s were giving me 2850 with 42.6 grains of 4350 and I was getting groups around or even under .25 MOA.....best shooting barrel I've ever had for this gun. So I'm tempted just to throw the 10 boxes of 140's on the shelf and stick with the 139s.

Or do the Hybrids offer any advantage in terms of BC.

The only reason I ask instead of just trying it out is because my range time is so limited with work.....I hate wasting most of my day on load development. Especially since the 139s are working so well.

Opinions?

Last edited:
Yeah I would run with the Scenars and I'll take the 140's off your hands so you don't have to look at them :)

Very jump tolerant bullet, as is the whole series of them, 6mm, 6.5, 7mm, 30 cal. Even a vld can jump a good distance.

Very jump tolerant bullet, as is the whole series of them, 6mm, 6.5, 7mm, 30 cal. Even a vld can jump a good distance.

Yeap, I am jumping the 140 vld about 100/1000's". Rifle is a GAP Crusader 6.5 Creedmor. It WILL NOT shoot them unless I jump
ALL bullets. My OAL for the 140 vld is 2.794 average.