• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Fieldcraft how many lefties use a RH bolt rifle

Xcount

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jul 31, 2009
Hello,
I am new to this kind of shooting and am looking at a FN A3G. Being a lefty, is it common to use a RH action? I could use my across the course 40x after mounting my ST-10 but the A3G seems to be a nicer setup.

what do the experts say??

Re: how many lefties use a RH bolt rifle

As far as shooting goes I have conformed to the RH mans way of life, use whats comfortable to you.

Welcome to the Hide, and as BOLTRIPPER would say please complete your profile.

+1

I've been using a RH for so long I'd probably feel awkward behind a LH. Repetition is the key, it didn't take me too long to get used to it.

I never even knew they made LH firearms when I was growing up.

I use RH rifles, shotguns and archery equipment. Do everything else LH though.

I never owned a LH gun until 4-5 years ago. I'll never go back however I don't think there is anything wrong with a righty.

My problem is right handed left eye dominant. I am considering a left hand action to see if there is a difference. There is shooting a pistol because I have to have one eye closed all the time or I will be left of the target. Archery is the same way have to shoot with one I closed. Not that is that big of a deal but I can acquire a target faster with both eyes open.

thanks for replies. Now I need to know if you guys are shooting from the normal lefty side and using your right hand to cycle the action or just crossing over to the normal right handed side and you've gotten used to using the gun from the opposite side. sorry for the simpleton questions.