• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

How probable is this?

FF_T_Warren

Sergeant
Minuteman
Feb 26, 2010
Louisiana, United States
Ok some guy told me a couple weeks back that he has a browning A-bolt 7mm w/ swarovski scope. He said the rifle is bedded and blueprinted and has a B.O.S.S.(which lets you tune your rifle to the round you choose to use). I'm new to long range shooting and everything so I figured I would ask you pros about this. I've never heard of B.O.S.S. but thats not what my question is about. He said at 500yds., he is holding a 1.25" group. Thats .25 MOA. Is this really possible/probable with a hunting rifle?

And if the guy who told me this reads this, I'm not trying to call you out or something, I'm just not sold on this without getting some opinions from people that know more than I do on this kind of stuff

Re: How probable is this?

1.25" AT 500 YDS The guy is one HELL of a shot! How many shots in the group??

didnt say, just said using hand loads and the info stated above. but from the way he talked, he acted like that was consistent as long as he let the barrel cool. I mean I understand that there are guns out there that can do this all day long but they cost a pretty penny and have alot of work done to them and I just found it hard to believe to get that accuracy from a couple hundred dollar hunting rifle.

It's possible he's gotten that kind of a group a time or two. A rifle and more importantly shooter capable of consistently doing that day in and day out would absolutely rule the roost in 600 yard benchrest. A lot of guys will get one tight 3 shot cluster and declare they have a 1/4 minute gun.