• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Rifle Scopes How Screwed am I?

kchustle

Private
Minuteman
May 10, 2011
OP, KS
I'm just getting in to the precision rifle side of things so I kept my budget pretty small for the glass knowing that I would upgrade if I really got into it. I mounted my scope, bore sighted it (old school looking down the bore style) and went to the range. Just looking through the glass I was happy. I started shooting at 50yds to make sure I was on paper and I was on the bullseye in 3 shots. Moved it to 100, made one more adjustment and started shooting. Somewhere in the first 40 shots I ended up with some debris in the scope. I used the cloth that came with the scope to clean the glass when I got home because I assumed it was on the outside. Nothing happened. So, there are definately particles inside the scope. None of it is actually interfering with the crosshairs but it is still annoying. So, how screwed am I? Do I need to send it back or is there some sort of another fix? I tried to get pictures but I couldn't really get anything worth while. It looks like the scraps of eraser that are left after you use an eraser on a pencil. 3 or 4 different pieces of whatever it is.

Thanks.

Re: How Screwed am I?

What scope do you have?

Mfg'er should take care of this under warranty.

What kind of scope? If it is not a POS, then take it off the rifle and smack it against a telephone book for a few good wacks and the suspended particles may dislodge and fall clear. If it is a cheap scope, proceed with caution.