• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing How to blacken stainless steel?

Waorani

Crusty Caballero
Minuteman
Feb 14, 2017
Greenbow, AL
Tried a few things over the years w/o much success. Is there a good DIY recipe or product for blackening stainless steel? Not coating/paint/etc.

Tried a few things over the years w/o much success. Is there a good DIY recipe or product for blackening stainless steel? Not coating/paint/etc.
You can black oxide 300 and 400 series stainless

Try this. I have no experience with it, but it is supposedly developed specifically to provide a black oxide coating on Stsinless. https://www.epi.com/black-oxide/stainless-steel/room/insta-blak-ss-370/

I've seen that and may give it a try if I can't come up with something cheaper. Only have occasional limited use like now trying to touch up a SiCo muzzle brake I opened up a bit and faced off the rear. Not sure what series stainless it may be.

When you say black oxide, do you mean like parkerizing? Never thought of that for SS but easy enough to try.

Last edited:
Sharpie. But seriously, If you can find an old machinist’s handbook they have a bunch of good finish procedures for a whole bunch of different metals. I may be able to find mine. If so, more to follow.

Sharpie. But seriously, If you can find an old machinist’s handbook they have a bunch of good finish procedures for a whole bunch of different metals. I may be able to find mine. If so, more to follow.

I've got 25th ed from 1996, will take a look.

BB22A581-0CAD-4DC6-983D-761747E66197.jpeg

Here is the stuff applying to blackening steel. It also has the US formula for browning gun barrels if anyone is interested. @sirhrmechanic