• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

How would you practice?

drstieren

Private
Minuteman
Sep 27, 2009
LaSalle County,Texas, USA
My background:

I am relatively new to long range shooting (no military experience). I have excellent equipment (e.g., 7mm-08 on outstanding stock, bedding, etc.) with Schmidt Bender scope & the finest—in my opinion—reticle available. I have shot almost a 1K rounds through this rifle and have more than a good feel for what will happen at various ranges. I have access to a @500y range that I can shoot and learn to “hit the spot” at varied yardage. I do precision handload.

My specific goal:

Other than the love of shooting and precision, I manage a small piece of property in South Texas. Most of my real-life shooting is selecting and managing White-tailed deer population. 98% of those shots are taken out of a hunting blind (same make/model of blind at all locations) at various ranges. There are no feeders and no shot is “set up.” Yardage variation is 80-500+ yards. Any shot I make, I wish to be more than certain that animal will die the instantaneous death I would wish for whenever it comes to me. A definite humane immediate kill is tantamount.

My question:

How would you propose I practice in off-season? I have a bench and of course, I have ground to lie on. There is no competition here except me against my conscience. Naturally, I shoot at various ranges out of several of the actual blinds in simulated/target scenarios. Should I just concentrate on the bench, shooting/ranging targets at random yardages or get some different exercises in my regime? What do you recommend?

Thanks!

Wally

Re: How would you practice?

many have said this before.....