• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Howa 1500 vs bergara HMR

stello1001

Professional Newb
Minuteman
  • Feb 20, 2017
    Corpus Christi TX
    Hello all,

I am wanting to get a new rifle and considering those two options listed in the subject line. What is it exactly that I am looking for? Consistency and/or accuracy. I really don't have much to spend as I graduated college not too long ago and have started working in an entry level position as of now. I have been searching around for Rem700 barreled actions and some savage 10s as well. I figured if I could put together a rifle little by little I might be able to save a few dollars. Anyhow, I don't feel too sure if that's the way to go. I see a lot posts in many different boards of people claiming to shoot under a minute with say for example a savage 12 varmint rifle that could be had for around $400. I just don't know if this is real or not. Perhaps those ppl got lucky with a very good out of the box shooter??? To make long story short, I think I will stick to what's titled above for peace of mind. Can anybody share some experiences on either? Or can anyone recommend something else that I might be missing out on? I honestly don't reload and don't have plans of doing so soon. I would be using factory match ammo for practicing. I don't think my shooting will ever exceed 700 yards. I want it chambered in 6.5 creedmoor.

I found a howa 1500 barreled action at brownells for about $400.00 plus. If I get that one, I was thinking maybe going with a B&C stock??? I'll post links below.

https://www.brownells.com/rifle-part...l_1=Howa__1500

https://www.stockysstocks.com/stocks...ion-stock.html