• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

howa action vs rem 700 action

skeetlee

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 13, 2008
Central Illinois
I once read some where on this forum that the howa actions were better machined (closer to being true) than the rem 700 action. Is there any thruth to that? And the same goes with there barrels? thanks lee

Re: howa action vs rem 700 action

No clue, but I see a hell of a lot more 700s on here than Howas. I figure there's gotta be some reason.
smile.gif

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Feuer Frei</div><div class="ubbcode-body">, but I see a hell of a lot more 700s on here than Howas. I figure there's gotta be some reason.
smile.gif
</div></div>

I have no experience with Howa's...but its a safe bet that the "reason" has a lot to do with...accessories, and the fact that the Rem 700 action is a solid one...only known issue is with the somewhat weak extactor, and I have never had a problem with any of mine...so...maybe even that is a little "blown out of proportion".

Pick Pete Lincoln's brain about the Howa's.
smile.gif
http://www.roedale.de/ He's about to release a detachable mag system for both SA and LA receivers.

The Howa's forged steel flat bottom receiver with integral lug isn't too bad a start. The forged one piece bolt is a tank as well. Remy bases match perfect and plenty other accessories to blow yer money on.

Just bought my brother an '06 Vanguard for Xmas, may just keep it.
smile.gif

The 700 action is what the military uses to build their "sniper" rifles. That does not mean they are more "solid" than others; they simply got the contract.