• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Howa Bravo Experience

Frankly

Banhammer
Banned !
Minuteman
Jan 27, 2018
Rural
I'm new to PRS and this is my first long range rifle so please excuse any ignorance. I just received a new Howa Bravo but am waiting for a scope rail to finish assembly... I'll post my progress. I am experienced with 3Gun and USPSA so I'm not unfamiliar with shooting in general. I'm near Rochester, NY so long range opportunities are limited but there is a match series about 2.5 hours from me this Summer and some private long range options from farmers. Also Ohio and PA aren't that far away.

In the box it comes with the bottom metal for mounting the action in a traditional stock, very nice. Bolt feels very smooth and I don't see any flaws in the Howa portion. I've only played with Rugers and Remys and this feels at least as good or better, seems more solid and the PVD (?) coating is great. The bolt handle looks good to me out of the box, we'll see once I actually use it. The KRG Bravo stock is good too, keeping in mind the price point.

IMG_4369.jpg

This is the RRS SOAR Arca plate for the Xray BW3-XR. It won't fit so we're stuck waiting on the KRG Arca Plate that seems to be forever backordered. You better not butt in line and take mine, lol.

IMG_4374.jpg

This is the universal KRG spigot mount. It's OK but it obscures two of the six bolts that mount the plastic handguard to the metal chassis. I wish they drilled out the extra holes since it's blank metal there and I don't see a conflict with the design. Finish on the part is functional, not as nice as RRS but fine. It mounts to the metal chassis with four bolts and is solid.

IMG_4375.jpg