• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

"Hybrid" Rifle - Lightweight and Precision - Both or Neither?

zog

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Aug 21, 2019
I'm new to precision shooting and have put some investment into a lightweight precision 6.5 PRC with titanium action and carbon barrel, thinking I was going to use it for backcountry hunting and for long range setup hunting. It's 6.6 lbs naked and 8.6 lbs scoped. I have heard the term "hybrid" used for this type of setup.

I'm shooting it but wondering about the hybrid concept. It isn't as light and nimble as my 6.5 crd mountain rifle, but also is not heavy enough to be the comfortable, effective precision long range shooter as the 13 lb bench rifle I learned on. To shoot mine well I have to be really careful and it is easier to pull a shot.

Reminds me of when mountain bikes were just becoming a rage many years ago. It didn't take long for a "hybrid" bike to come out - trying to get a both a mountain bike and a road bike in one, but for most people the hybrid turned out to be neither. It was a lousy mountain bike, only good for gentle trails, and a slow road bike.

So just for some discussion - for the lightweight precision shooters, how do you like your setup? Do you believe you have both a mountain rifle and a precision rifle?

Last edited:
Reactions: Doitallgp
Might as well “run what you brung.”
But...
That said, the trend is moving toward 20+ lb small sixes. For a reason...

thisis a real concern for my shooting partner and I. we have been doing a couple team matches a year where we traverse roughly 30 miles over 3 days on timed rucks while carring our gear for the whole weekend (food, tend, sleeping stuff, rifle, pistol, both ammo, tripod, binocs, etc etc)