• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

I need advice on brass. Winchester 6.5cm unprimed brass. I’m new to reloading.

ballisticguy

Private
Minuteman
Dec 31, 2021
Oklahoma
I have the opportunity to purchase 250 pieces of new unprimed Winchester 6.5cm brass for $0.40 each. Would this be worth my time with the large primer pocket? I’m new to reloading and I’m still currently reading up on load data. I need to find a load for my bergara b14 HMR 24in barrel. Everyone has to start somewhere, and this is time to admit I’m new. Should I stay away from this. Would this get me started? Should wait and Find some decent SRP brass? I thought this was decent deal giving the current times, but now I’m second guessing if I should buy these.

I have all my reloading equipment, and I have to start somewhere. I have 2lbs of H4350, and I still need a starting place as to which bullet I should go with. Point me in the right direction guys. I’ll learn quick, and log data. We were all here at some point.

Last edited:
There's nothing wrong with large rifle primer brass. Lots of us have shot thousands upon thousands of rounds of 6.5 Creedmoor with large rifle primers for years before anyone started making SRP brass. Also, if I'm not mistaken, Winchester brass is just Hornady brass with a different stamp, or at least it used to be.

Reactions: ballisticguy
There's nothing wrong with large rifle primer brass. Lots of us have shot thousands upon thousands of rounds of 6.5 Creedmoor with large rifle primers for years before anyone started making SRP brass. Also, if I'm not mistaken, Winchester brass is just Hornady brass with a different stamp, or at least it used to be.