• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

I think that I want an 11.5” AR pistol

Money Waster

Private
Minuteman
Dec 20, 2017
So, I have been shooting precision rifle rigs for the last several years and feel like I want to do some simple, practical shooting to break the monotony. I have a 16” barreled upper receiver for my AR, but I think that I want something more compact and maneuverable. I have a 9” CMMG .22 lr upper that I love for plinking, but I’d like something with a little more horsepower that is similar in handling. Shooting will be at steel plates from 25 yards to 100 using a red dot as the optic. I’m thinking an 8” plate at 50 yards shooting offhand would be fairly practical shooting.

In the pursuit of all of this, I’m looking for a 10.5” or 11.5” .223 Wylde chambered barrel for an upper build. I don’t need 1 MOA accuracy for this upper. I figure 2-3 MOA with bulk ammo would suffice. Can anyone recommend a barrel and buffer weight that would achieve this objective?

Thanks in advance.

Lou

And no, I didn’t see the post “where are all the 11.5” ar barrels” before posting this. My apologies to those offended when this occurs. I’m still interested in people’s opinions on the subject.

Why not just chop your 16” barrel down? Then form 1 SBR the lower. Done.

Hmmm......not a bad idea actually. The only thing keeping me from doing that would be that I want a 16” upper as well. The sunk cost plus the machine cost would add up to one expensive barrel for sure.

Just buy a 10.5" complete upper from PA or some other outfit. Done and probably cheaper. I've got a 10.5" pistol from Radical Firearms; I bought it from Primary Arms. Offhand shots at 50 yards are no problemo. Has been reliable.