• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Ideas for a set of optics

KLambert05

Private
Minuteman
Apr 26, 2011
United States
So this is my first post, but I have been browsing these forums for a long time. I finally have some money to spend, and with a birthday coming up soon, I will be getting a new toy
smile.gif
. I am going to get a Remington 700 action SPS tactical in a .308 with the 20" heavy barrel. Now I've been doing a ton of research, but just cannot figure out which optics I will be using. I'm a college student, so I don't have a lot of money and I'm budgeting about $300 for my optics. I do mostly target shooting between 100 and 400 yards, along with pig and deer hunting (those shots are only around 100-200 yards) and I use pretty much only hand loads, if that makes a difference. Any suggestions?

Re: Ideas for a set of optics

I just picked up one of these bad boys for my SPS Varmint in 308. http://www.snipershide.com/2010/08/weaver-grand-slam-3-10x-tactical/

They are on sale at Midwayusa http://www.midwayusa.com/viewproduct/default.aspx?productnumber=598484

and also Weaver has a free Buck Commander backpack promo as well

http://www.weaveroptics.com/whatsnew/promotions/.

It is very simple and streamline, only 1" tube though, but it will serve my intended purpose (mildot practice, ringing steel, and hunting out in the prairie).

Might want to have this moved or posted in optic section.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: winxp_man</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Might want to have this moved or posted in optic section. </div></div>

I noticed that like two seconds after I posted it, but seeings as how this is my first post, i have no idea how to do that.