• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

I'm a newb...

backroad

Private
Minuteman
Dec 30, 2006
Arkansas
I know I should've searched, but I figured what the hell... I've always been interested in long range shooting, but haven't had the cash flow lately to get a good gun. Now I'm supposed to go varmint hunting with some buddies in a few weeks and I <span style="font-style: italic">need</span> a good gun, but I'm opting for a "most accurate out of the box" kind of deal instead of a custom gun because I don't have much time. I've been looking at the Remington 700 SPS Tactical, and the 700 VTR (Both in .223) What are your thoughts on these two rifles? The VTR is somewhat available, but I'm having a hard time finding an SPS, it seems the distributors are out of them (my dads a dealer. heh). Any of you guys know of a distributor that carrys them? Thanks.

Re: I'm a newb...

Check pawn shops for a used .223 if you're stuck on that caliber. What distances do you plan to shoot? If you plan to shoot much beyond 600yd, then you may want to think about something bigger like a 308.

Almost any used Remington 700 would be good to go. Then down the road, if you want, and have the budget, you can always send it to a gun-plumber to true up the action and hang a new barrel on it in your choice of calibers. If you go with .223, then you may need to open up the bolt face if you rebarrel in a different caliber.

I think you should look into an AR , great varmint rifle and very versatle.