• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Im a novice and need direction

bensell9014

Private
Minuteman
Jul 5, 2023
Chandler, AZ
Hey guys,
My name is Ben and I am brand spankin new to reloading. Im having some trouble. I am using a hornady lock n Load system, once fired lapua .308 brass with hornandy .308 dies. I have so far deprimed/ full resize, washed in hypersonic cleaner, trimmed, champered and deburred, and then placed new primers in the brass. This is where I need help. I have measured out my powder and fulled the brass with 40.0 grains of SW tactile rifle powder. I have followed youtube videos the entire time. I have previous reloaded using my buddies already set up stuff that worked without a problem. I have since moved across the country and acquired my own reloading equipment. I am trying to set up my seating Die and I am following instruction to fully raise case without a bullet and then put on seating dye until you get resistance and then back off one turn. I put the bullet on the powder filled brass and then bullet just falls straight on top of the powder, It wont seat properly. I am using 165-A-Max 30 caliber (.308) bullets. What am I doing wrong? Clearly the neck sizing is off. I even put some brass through the sizing die again. I feel the slightest resistance when putting the bullet in the neck of the case but when putting it through the seating dye it go all the way down. Please help diagnose this issue. I am trying to learn to reload so i can practice to work my way up to PRS (yes I know .308 isnt what I should be shooting in PRS... I will get a different caliber in the future.). Please help. I am very confused. Did i buy the wrong bullets? What am I doing wrong? it seems to me its the neck sizing but I dont know.