• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing I'm new to barrels and just got a borescope!

JWG

Private
Minuteman
May 6, 2017
I can feel the cringe the title illicited, but it's also true. The beauty is, that I know I am ignorant, I know I do not know what I am looking at, and I'm curious and willing to learn. This is the first barrel I've borescoped, and am curious how it looks to someone who would know. My perception of what I'm seeing is captured in said video, right or wrong.
I'm happy to be educated.

looks pretty nice.
Chamber appears to be slightly offset from the bore but my first Shilen was like that and it was an amazing barrel.
Offset in what way? It is a 5.56 chamber.

Offset in what way? It is a 5.56 chamber.

look at where the lands start
Maybe it’s the way you move the camera but some appear longer than others.
that means the reamer was not perfectly square and/or concentric to the bore.

It’s not rare on cheaper barrels and factory barrels.
If your spending $700-800 on a barrel from a highly skilled and detail oriented smith then I’d be kinda miffed about it.

It’s definitely not a guarantee the barrel will not shoot well.

It takes time and expense to fixture up a barrel to less than a tenth of of the width of a human hair.
Time=$$$$$$

Shoot it.
That’s the real gauge of a barrel.

The other thing you'll see in hammer and button barrels is the lines the run perpendicular to the bore axis. On a cut (or buttoned for that matter) barrel that has been lapped, you'll just see smooth lap marks that run in the same axis of the bore.