• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Importance of scope height to barrel...

base

Sergeant
Minuteman
Mar 6, 2009
San Francisco, Ca
so i see that everyone tries to get their scope as low as possible to be inline with the barrel. can someone tell me the reasoning for this. is this a functional reason or looks. how important is it to have the scope as low as possible? the reason why i ask is my scope's 50mm bell sits at least a good 1/2" above my barrel. this may seem like a novice question but i guess that just means i'm a novice in this area. thanks.

Re: Importance of scope height to barrel...

Better cheek weld <span style="color: #999900">(for me). </span>
Too low can be an issue with AI/AICS setups, but its hard to get too low with conventional tactical/precision stocks and a R700 <span style="color: #999900">(if you have a longer narrow or smaller face structure)</span>

A month or so ago I saw where Ty at Barnes posted on thier web site that a higher scope seems to flatten trajtory over a lower mounted scope. I like a 2" high mounting, but I like Weatherby stocks. My custom stock was even higher.

Has anyone tested this?

Being comfortable behind the rifle is more important than how low the scope is to the bore line.

There will be slight differences in scope heights at longer ranges but the place you will see it the most is in close, 25 yards and in. They can easily be adjusted for so there's no need to have the scope riding right on the barrel unless that's the most comfortable for you. Go to a ballistic program like JBM and put in different scope heights with all other data being the same.

Reactions: TC.TURTLECREEK