• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

input on a .338 Lapua rifle?

The_Sandman

Private
Minuteman
Sep 18, 2014
Grand Forks, North Dakota
I'm new here and I've used the search engine, but would like some input from .338 owners on good factory rifles.

I'm relatively new to shooting long range, and I'm currently shooting a SIG SSG3000, but i would like to step up to a .338 Lapua. Currently I'm looking into McMillan, Sako, Accuracy International, and Desert Tech. They all appear to be exceptional rifles, so any input would be greatly appreciated.

Will you be competing with this rifle? Some ranges won't allow 338s on their steel targets... You may have already considered this but if not food for thought.

Then I would agree with strike33 if budget isn't an issue and you don't have certain specs you need to meet then AI AXMC or AI PSR would be a great choice.

Last edited:
I dont own an AI, unable to speak of them, but do own a DT. LOVE the rifle! The trigger is FLAWLESS and as crisp as is gets! The ability and ease of changing calibers is extreamly easy with no lose of zero what so ever! If I did have a complaint, the biggest it would be is the lack of a ten rnd mag. Other than that, you can't go wrong.

Course, you wouldnt go wrong with any of the choices provided. IMO, before you make ANY feduciary decision, get behind each of them and let your comfort and groupings decide!!!!

Just my $0.02.

I'm currently leaning towards the AXMC, I've read a lot about AI, Sako, and Desert Tech. AI seems to be the best of those three.

I've heard good things about the McMillan rifles also, but they're harder to come by and I don't know anybody who owns one. Anyone have input on their guns?