• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

input on Remington 700 project?

spartan5538

Private
Minuteman
May 2, 2022
Fort Bragg, NC
I recently compiled a list of components for a .300 Win Mag I want to build in Remington 700 pattern.
The goal was to find components that are high quality and light-weight.
The idea is to build a long range rifle ideal for both hunting and precision shooting.
Ideally this project will be taking place over a period of 1-2 years, not only based on availability of products, but also as a factor of cost.
I am new to the Precision shooting world, so any input would be much appreciated.

Components:
-Action: Falkor Defense 7Even Long action ($1,400) (35.36oz)
-Barrel: Christensen Arms Remington 700 Carbon Fiber 26" (.300 WM) ($850) (2lbs 15oz)
-Scope: Leupold Mark 5HD 5-25x56 M1C3 FFP PR2-MOA ($2,100) (30oz)
-Chassis: Kinetic Research Group (KRG) Whiskey-3 Chassis ($940) (3lbs 13oz)
-Trigger: Geissele Super 700 ($250) (weight?)
-Scope Rings: Leupold Back Country cross-slot 35mm high rings ($120) (3.6oz)

Overall cost at MSRP: ~$5,700 Overall weight: 11lbs

I’ll definitely check out those other Barrels. I hadn’t considered the recoil affecting the rings in that way, I’ll look further.
Thanks for the input!

What do you want the rifle to be better at? Precision shooting or hunting?

What kind of hunting will you be doing? Sitting in a blind? Shooting from a truck? Mild walks? Extensive and intensive hikes over multiple days and climbing up mountains?